Zikomo from Malawi!

Where to start?

It’s nice to binge on the internet right now. I move to Kasungu on Tuesday and I don’t know when I will be on the internet next. This will be the beginning of homestay where I will live with a Malawian family for a couple months before going out on my own. It’s currently about 70 degrees here at 9:23 p.m. I went to a nearby village today. I’ll post pictures tomorrow. I’m learning Chichewa language slowly — it’s more challenging than I thought it would be. The ol’ brain isn’t as sharp as it once was apparently. I’m tired and running on four hours sleep. The training days are long. We start at 6:30 for breakfast and end at 8 for dinner. Throughout the entire day we are in intense language and cultural classes. The cohort I came over with is a lovely bunch and I’m looking forward to getting to know each more.

I’ll try to write a much longer post tomorrow highlighting some of things that have interested me. If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask!

1897973_10152252911150238_1827270312_n

The cohort after we got of the plane in Lilongwe!

One response to “Zikomo from Malawi!

  1. Great to hear your travels have been safe! I see you used the picture from our Christmas party on your blog! I sent a link to your blog to the Christmas crowd. We all miss you.

    We’ll be following your adventures, so make sure you post from the Warm Heart of Africa when you can!

    Lee
    Virginia

Leave a Reply

